“Prayer (I)”

“Prayer (I)”
by George Herbert (1593-1633)

Prayer, the church’s banquet; angels’ age,
God’s breath in man returning to his birth;
The soul in paraphrase, heart in pilgrimage;
The Christian plummet sounding heaven and earth;

Engine against th’ Almighty, sinner’s tower,
Reversed thunder, Christ-side-piercing spear,
The six days’ world transposing in an hour;
A kind of tune which all things hear and fear:

Softness and peace and joy and love and bliss;
Exalted manna, gladness of the best;
Heaven in ordinary, man well dressed,
The milky way, the bird of paradise,

Church-bells beyond the stars heard, the soul’s blood,
The land of spices; something understood.

One thought on ““Prayer (I)”

  1. Hello. I saw your bio in the member list for LitCritters. I’m interested in getting more experience in proofreading and editing. I’ve been an editor for school publications, and I once served as copy editor for OtakuZine.

    My email is given above. I hope I can be useful to you in some way.

    Thank you very much for reading this.

    EK 8 )

Leave a Reply

